Administration Officer

Karen Palmer
Mobile 027 649 5657
PO Box 444 Dunedin 9054
Office Hours 9am - 5pm Monday - Friday

Strategic Plan

Linked Here is the Strategic Plan the Board has drafted in consultation with the Sub- committees of Athletics Otago.

We are now seeking feedback from the membership prior to adopting this plan.

 Please forward any suggestions or comment back to Karen at by the 20th  August 2018



Board Members

Raylene Bates: “I am currently the Athletics New Zealand High Performance Para Athlete Manager and Head Coach, having previously worked for the Otago Academy of Sport, NZ Academy of Sport SI and High Performance Sport NZ as their Business Manager. I have been an active and successful provincial and national representative athlete for more than 40 years and still participate in athletics, mountain biking and adventure racing. I have had a number of roles in Athletics Otago since 1989, have been Head Coach/Team Manager/Team Leader for Elite NZ Athletics and Paralympic athletics teams to Commonwealth Games, Olympic games, Paralympics and World Champs since 2006. I have been a throws coach for 28 years, and as well as coaching NZ Champions, medallists and record holders in several disciplines, I have given large numbers of athletes the opportunity to improve and achieve their goals.”


Megan Gibbons: Board Chair: I am currently the Head of College for Te Ohu Ora (sport, adventure, massage and occupational therapy) at Otago Polytechnic, with responsibility for 600 full-time equivalent students and a budget of over $9 million. I am also a member of the Otago Polytechnic Academic Board. I previously worked at the NZ Academy of Sport and Massey University. I have a PhD in Biomedical Sciences from Auckland University. I have been involved in athletics since the 1980’s, representing NZ at Oceania and Australian Championships, and since the mid-1990’s have been coaching in Canterbury, Northland and (since 2004) Otago. I currently have a squad of 34 athletes that vary in age from 11 to 23, and also lecture level 1 and 2 coaching courses for new coaches.”


Stuart Melville: “I express my interest in putting my name forward for nomination to the new board of Athletics Otago. I have been a chartered accountant since 1974 and for the last 26 years have been in business as a sole practitioner. It is my desire to support the board, not participate in the day to day financial affairs of the organisation. My wide range of business experience could assist the board in financial decisions as well as administration, staffing or policy issues. When I was a member of the University Athletic Club in the mid '70s, I held the position of delegate to the Athletics Otago Centre for that club for about five years. During the 1970/71 track season, I was the secretary/treasurer of NZ Universities Athletics and organised a tour of NZ by an Australian Universities team, including a test in Dunedin. I have competed in athletics events from the age of 12, with success at intermediate and high school, university and Otago championships, as well as national events, starting as a sprinter and ending as a middle distance runner. In 1974 I was selected to compete in the 1974 Commonwealth Games and have subsequently attended the 1982,1986 and 1994 events. Of recent times, I have attended the world track and field championships and believe the experience and knowledge gained in attending such occasions could be of assistance to the board. I still walk every day.”




Bryce Watt: “I am passionate about young New Zealanders engaging with athletics and adopting an active lifestyle. I am involved at grass roots level through officiating and with administration at an Otago, Club and National level. I bring to the board extensive knowledge around the structure and administration of athletics in New Zealand. Through previous roles I bring experience in governance and policy development in not for profit organisations. I am keen to see Athletics Otago and its member clubs develop strategies that focus on increasing participation, developing products and services, strengthening delivery at grass roots, and growing talent whilst creating sustainable income.”





 Patron  Ron Cain QSM  
 President  Bruce Cowan
 Vice Presidents  Raylene Bates & Rob Homan  
 Board Chair  Megan Gibbons
 Records Steward Deidre Helm
 Officials Coordinator Bryce watt
 Finance Chairman Brent Halley
 Track & Field Chairman Rob Homan
 Cross Country Chairman  Greg Johnston
 Squad Chairman    
 For a Full List of Officers and  Committee Members  Click Here
Copyright 2019 by Athletics Otago